WVU’s Tynice Martin on Wade Watch List

Home Page forums BlueGoldNews WVU Sports WVU’s Tynice Martin on Wade Watch List

  • This topic has 0 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated by Kevin Kinder.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • #112131

    Redshirt senior guard Tynice Martin of the West Virginia University women’s basketball team has been named to the Wade Torphy Midseason Watch List, as announced by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) on Wednesday.

    Martin also was named to the preseason Wade Award, Drysdale Award and Citizen Naismith Award Watch Lists, as well as the 2020 Preseason All-Big 12 Team.

    In 22 games this season, the Atlanta, Georgia, native is averaging 14.9 points per game for the Mountaineers, while shooting 36.3 percent from the field. Martin is second on the team in steals, with 29, and is one of two players averaging 10 or more points for WVU this season. Currently, Martin has amassed 1,916 career points, good for No. 4 on WVU’s all-time scoring list. She needs 86 points to pass Bria Holmes (2013-16; 2,001 points) for No. 3 on the list.

    Joining the preseason list of 30 Wade Trophy hopefuls are Te’a Cooper of Baylor, Elissa Cunane of North Carolina State, Japreece Dean of UCLA, Kathleen Doyle of Iowa, Dana Evans of Louisville, Vivian Gray of Oklahoma State, Jazmine Jones of Louisville, Micaela Kelly of Central Michigan, Lindsey Pulliam of Northwestern, and Jocelyn Willoughby of Virginia.

    The Wade Trophy — now in its 43rd year — is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. First awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America, the Wade Trophy has been presented to the WBCA NCAA Division I National Player of the Year since 2001.

    The WBCA will announce the four finalists for the honor in mid-March. The winner of the 2020 Wade Trophy will be announced April 2 in New Orleans — site of the 2020 WBCA Convention and NCAA Women’s Final Four.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Home Page forums BlueGoldNews WVU Sports WVU’s Tynice Martin on Wade Watch List