Big 12 Postseason Notebook

Big 12 Postseason Notebook

Men’s Notes:

  • Kansas has punched its ticket to the Final Four, marking the Big 12’s ninth appearance since inception. The Conference has played in 11 Final Four games (4-7) with a national championship by the Jayhawks in 2008.
  • The Big 12 is the only conference in 2017-18 to place a team in the CFP national semifinals (Oklahoma) and the Final Four (Kansas).
  • The 12 wins by the Big 12 in this year’s NCAA Championship are tied for the most of any conference (ACC). For the third season in Big 12 history and the first time with a 10-member league, three teams played in the Elite Eight with Kansas, Kansas State and Texas Tech. Other seasons with three Elite Eight teams include 2002 and 2003.
  • The Big 12 has placed at least two teams in the regional finals in six of the past 11 NCAA Championships, including this season (2008, ‘09, ‘10, ‘12, ‘16, ‘18). Thirteen times in the last 16 years at least one conference squad has advanced to the Elite Eight.
  • The Big 12 has had 25 regional finalists in the past 16 years – the most of any conference during that span.
  • Big 12 men’s basketball led the nation with 40 percent of its teams advancing to the Regional semifinals. Kansas, Kansas State, Texas Tech and West Virginia danced to the Sweet 16 as the Big 12 made up one-fourth of the field.
  • This season marked just the second time in Conference history for four teams to advance to the Sweet 16 with the first occurring in 2002 when the league had 12 teams.
  • For the third-consecutive season and the eighth time overall, the Big 12 had at least three teams in the Regional semifinals. The Big 12 has had at least one Sweet 16 team in all but one year in Conference history, with multiple teams 15 times.
  • The Big 12 has 10 appearances in the Regional semifinals since the 2016 tournament, one less than the top spot of 11. Seventy percent of Big 12 teams have advanced to a Sweet 16 within the last three seasons – Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Texas Tech and West Virginia.
  • For the first time in Conference history, the Big 12 sent 90 percent of its men’s basketball teams to postseason play with seven in the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship and two in the National Invitation Tournament. The Big 12 is the first league since at least 1996-97 to accomplish the feat of 90 percent of its teams in postseason.
  • The Big 12 led the nation with 70 percent of teams in the NCAA Championship. It marked the fifth time (2010, 2014, 2015, 2016) in Conference history that the league had seven NCAA bids and the fourth since the Big 12 became a 10-member league in 2011-12.

Women’s Notes:

  • TCU and West Virginia have advanced to the WNIT semifinals, which will be played on Wednesday, March 28. The Horned Frogs are making their deepest postseason run in program history after picking up a 79-71 win at South Dakota. The Mountaineers earned their third WNIT semifinal appearance with a 76-62 victory over St. John’s. On Wednesday, TCU will travel to Indiana (7 p.m.) while WVU will host Virginia Tech (7 p.m.). The winners from the semifinals will advance to the WNIT Championship on Saturday, March 31, to be held at a campus site.
  • Two Big 12 squads have won the WNIT postseason title: K-State in 2006 and Oklahoma State in 2012.
  • Fifty percent of the Big 12 won at least two games in the postseason. Baylor advanced to its 10th consecutive Sweet 16, while Texas made a fourth-straight appearance in the regional semifinal. K-State, TCU and West Virginia each won its first two games in the WNIT.
  • Besides WVU and TCU, Kansas State also participated in the WNIT. The Wildcats won their first two games in that tournament before getting knocked out by UC Davis (71-69).
  • The Big 12 also had four teams earn berths in the women’s NCAA Tournament, but all have since been eliminated. Baylor, a No. 2 seed, won its first two NCAA games but lost to Oregon State (72-67) in the Sweet 16. Oklahoma, which entered the NCAAs as a No. 12 seed, lost its opening round game to No. 5 DePaul (90-79). Texas, a No. 2 seed, won its first two NCAA games before falling to No. 3 UCLA (84-75) in the Sweet 16. And Oklahoma State, a No. 9 seed, defeated Syracuse in its NCAA opener (84-57) before losing to No. 2 Mississippi State (71-56).
  • Seven Big 12 student-athletes earned AP All-America honors. Baylor junior and Big 12 Player of the Year Kalani Brown was named to the AP All-America Second Team. Honorable Mention honorees were: Ariel Atkins (Texas), Bridget Carleton (Iowa State), Loryn Goodwin (Oklahoma State), Kaylee Jensen (Oklahoma State), Brooke McCarty (Texas) and Teana Muldrow (West Virginia).
  • Baylor took home three individual awards to highlight the 2017-18 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Women’s Basketball Awards. Kim Mulkey was named the Coach of the Year for the sixth time since 2005, after guiding her team to an undefeated conference season. Junior center Kalani Brown was selected as Player of the Year, while sophomore forward Lauren Cox was tabbed as Defensive Player of the Year.
  • Loryn Goodwin (Oklahoma State) earned Newcomer of the Year honors, while Amy Okonkwo (TCU) earned the Sixth Man Award. Shaina Pellington (Oklahoma) was named the 2018 Big 12 Freshman of the Year. For a full slate of award winners see list on page four.
  • Baylor became the fifth team to finish the Big 12 regular season undefeated to claim its eighth consecutive regular-season title. BU previously went undefeated in league play in 2011-12 and 2012-13. The Lady Bears won their ninth Phillips 66 Big 12 Postseason Championship with a 77-69 win over No. 2 Texas. Kalani Brown was named the Most Outstanding Player, while Lauren Cox and Alexis Morris also earned AllTournament Team recognition. Texas’ Ariel Atkins and Brooke McCarty were also named to the All-Tournament Team.


Leave a Reply