WVU’s Shane Lyons On NCAA Constitution Committee

Director of Athletics Shane Lyons has had the fullest of plates since coming to West Virginia University in 2015, and he has added another heaping serving with his naming to the NCAAs Constitution Committee, which will propose a ground-up reworking of the group’s operating principles. The committee consists of 23 members representing all three divisions of the NCAA.

The group will identify the core principles that define college sports and propose a new governance model that allows for quicker change without sacrificing broader values, while either reaffirming or redefining those values. The committee will be chaired by former U.S. Secretary of Defense Robert Gates, one of five independent members of the Board of Governors and former president at Texas A&M.

“Each of the appointees offers important insight on the transformation that’s needed for the future,” NCAA President Mark Emmert said. “The time is now for substantive change. And future change must focus on serving student-athletes.”

Get all of our print editions with your subscription today!

The NCAA Board of Governors recently announced its historic decision to convene a special constitutional convention in November, with action expected to be taken at the NCAA Convention in January. The special constitutional convention is intended to propose dramatic changes to the NCAA constitution to reimagine aspects of college sports so the Association can more effectively meet the needs of current and future college athletes.

The Constitution Committee will begin its work immediately. In November, the committee will submit for membership feedback a working draft of its proposals. The special constitutional convention will convene no later than Nov. 15. The final proposals will be provided to the NCAA Board of Governors by Dec. 15 and scheduled for votes in January by the full membership at the NCAA Convention.

WVU Director of Athletics Shane Lyons shares an overview of the new facilities master plan for the Mountaineer program

Lyons has served on numerous conference and national boards and committees, including the Big 12 Administration Committee, Finance and Budget Committee and the Game Management and Officiating Subcommittee. In 2018, he chaired the overall athletic directors committee for the Big 12. He has also been a member of both the  NCAA Division I Council and the chair of the  Division I Football Oversight Committee, and moved to the chair of the DI council on July 1.

The Constitution Committee roster includes:

Brad Bankston — Commissioner, Old Dominion Athletic Conference.
Sandy Barbour — Vice president for intercollegiate athletics, Penn State.
Dean Bresciani — President, North Dakota State.
Greg Christopher — Vice president for administration, director of athletics, Xavier.
Mary Sue Coleman — Former president, Association of American Universities, independent board member.
Troy Dannen — Director of athletics, Tulane.
John DeGioia — President, Georgetown.
Robert Gates (chair) — Former U.S. secretary of defense, former president, Texas A&M, independent board member.
Robin Harris — Executive director, The Ivy League.
Chris Howard — President, Robert Morris.
Gayle Hutchinson — President, Chico State.
Jim Johnson — Director of athletics, Pittsburg State.
Megan Koch — Track and field, Colorado College.
Linda Livingstone — President, Baylor.
Shane Lyons — Director of athletics, associate vice president, West Virginia.
Madeleine McKenna — Volleyball, California University of Pennsylvania.
Fayneese Miller — President, Hamline.
Jere Morehead — President, Georgia.
Gloria Nevarez — Commissioner, West Coast Conference.
Jim Phillips — Commissioner, Atlantic Coast Conference.
Julie Ruppert — Commissioner, Northeast-10 Conference.
Darryl Sims — Director of athletics, Wisconsin-Oshkosh.
Kendall Spencer — Track and field, New Mexico.

Home Page forums WVU’s Shane Lyons On NCAA Constitution Committee

  • This topic has 0 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated by Kevin Kinder.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Home Page forums WVU’s Shane Lyons On NCAA Constitution Committee

Home Page forums WVU’s Shane Lyons On NCAA Constitution Committee